Kibs Singing Review: Soul Eater

Posted on Apr 19 2009

kibsbanner

Kibs gives us a special treat today, brought about by a case of writer’s block.


Unfortunately there are a few audio issues on blip.

You Might Also Like...



Comments
  • The Anime Lounge Forums April 19, 2009 at 12:12 PM

    Kibs’ Singing Review: Soul Eater…

    http://www.918thefan.com/banner/kibsbanner.png

    Kibs gives us a special treat today, brought about by a case of writer’s block.

    AfuyDJPXSA

    Unfortunately blip has some audio issues, and our YouTube l……

  • avidfan141 April 19, 2009 at 1:04 PM

    hahaha ….a death threat in a end of a review.. awesome. 🙂

  • ProfessorOtaku April 19, 2009 at 3:32 PM

    It seems to lose a lil’ somethin-somethin’ acoustically.
    As far as the similarities to Bleach, I’ll concede a little bit, and it certainly has it beat stylistically (at least anime-wise, I love Kubo’s style). Its still a long-form series, and its still a shounen styled show, which means it will always get that comparison. But at least this one had a conclusion.
    Still, I watched it and liked it.

  • Joeshadowman April 19, 2009 at 6:13 PM

    i like dark animes so i will give this a try.

  • Kibs April 19, 2009 at 6:19 PM

    @ ProfessorOtaku
    Lol well I plan on recording a full version with a full instrumental band.

    I honestly don’t see very much between the two animes to really make much of a comparison at all, really the amount of similarities between the two are about the same as you’ll find by comparing a lot of anime’s. I mean, if you want to compare anime’s try comparing something like azumanga daioh to Lucky star, which have a lot more fundamental similarities, which are mainly based within the story.

    Just because two anime have shinigami and “living weapons” doesn’t mean they’re anything comparable.

    It’s like comparing “The Mummy” to “InkHeart” simply because they’re both in a fantasy series and star Brendan Frasier.

  • ProfessorOtaku April 20, 2009 at 6:02 AM

    @Kibs

    Yes, this is true, but at the same time consider they both have the same sort of character tropes in play here: Black Star and Ichigo are both too knuckleheaded to give up, there’s one guy (or girl in Arachne’s case) masterminding the whole shebang, Soul uses the dangerous demon power like Ichigo uses the dangerous Hollow power, to name a few. Not that this is a knock against the show but its still a shounen styled show. I could be comparing it to Naruto and make the same arguments, its just the outside similarities are more Bleach-like in appearance.

    Except for the part where this show is much better,.

  • Kibs April 20, 2009 at 1:53 PM

    @ ProfessorOtaku
    lol @ last sentence

    Well then how about to people who insist on comparing it to bleach I simply tell them it’s a little bit like Bleach, only good.

  • Loxi June 24, 2009 at 2:20 PM

    I has commented

  • You must be logged in to comment. Log in